Total lunar eclipse

A total eclipse of the Moon will take place on the evening of Wednesday 8 October. The Moon starts moving into the Earth’s shadow at 8:15 pm AEDT and is fully immersed in the shadow at 9:25 pm. Totality is over at 10:25 pm and the eclipse ends at 11:35 pm. For people in the eastern half of Australia and New Zealand the whole eclipse is visible, while for people in the west the eclipse starts with the rising of the partially eclipsed moon.

For more details, see our factsheet.

2014 ASA Prizes

The ASA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 ASA Awards. The prize winners presented their research at the ASA meeting at Maquarie University.

  • Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy by an Honours or eligible Masters student
    Awarded to Ross Turner, University of Tasmania, for his thesis “Evolution of radio-loud Active Galactic Nuclei.” Ross was supervised by Stanislav Shabala. In additiona, an honourable mention goes to Chris Herron, University of Sydney, for his thesis “Probing Cosmic Magnetic Fields with Faraday Rotation and Depolarisation”,  supervised by Bryan Gaensler and Shane O’Sullivan.
  • Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in astronomy
    arded to Justin Bray, University of Adelaide, for his thesis “Lunar Radio Detection of Ultra-High-Energy Particles.” Justin was supervised by Raymond Protheroe.  An honourable mention went to Anthony Conn of Macquarie University for his thesis “Structure of the M31 Satellite System: Bayesian Distances from the Tip of the Red Giant Branch”, which was supervised by Quentin Parker.
  • Louise Webster Prize for outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career
    Awarded to Dr Simon Campbell (Monash Universit) for his paper “Sodium content as a predictor of the advanced evolution of globular cluster stars”.
Congratulations to all our prize winners!

2014 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize

ASA member Ken Freeman has been honoured for his significant contributions to near field cosmology in the 2014 Gruber Foundation Cosmology PrizeThis year’s prize has been awarded to Jaan Einasto, Ken Freeman, R. Brent Tully, and Sidney van den Bergh for their individual roles in the development of near field cosmology — laying the foundation in our understanding of the structure and composition of the nearby Universe.  The Cosmology Prize honours a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the Universe.  Congratulations Ken!

2013 ASA Robert Ellery Lectureship

The 2013 ASA Robert Ellery Lectureship was awarded to Prof Rachel Webster.  The Robert Ellery Lectureship is awarded to an ASA member every second year for their outstanding contributions to astronomy throughout their career to date.  Congratulations to Rachel!