2013 Australia Day Honours List

Three members of the Astronomical Society of Australia are among more than 500 people recognised yesterday in the Australia Day Honours List:

  • Professor Brian Schmidt (Order of Australia) –  For eminent service as a global science leader in the field of physics through research in the study of astronomy and astrophysics, contributions to scientific bodies and the promotion of science education.
  • Professor Michael Dopita (Order of Australia) – For significant service to science in the field of astronomy and astrophysics.
  • Professor Brian Boyle (Public Service Medal) – For outstanding public service to Australian astronomy and for leadership of the Australian team bidding to host the international Square Kilometre Array facility.

For more information, see the Australia Day 2013 Honours List.

Congratulations to Brian, Mike and Brian!





%d bloggers like this: