2013 Academy awards for scientific excellence

The Australian Academy of Science today announced the 2013 winners of its prestigious annual awards for scientific excellence. Congratulations to ASA members Ken Freeman and Chris Blake, who have both received awards.

  • Professor Kenneth Freeman FAA FRS, Australian National University – 2013 Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture:
    The Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture recognises scientific research of the highest standing in the physical sciences, and honours the contributions of Australia’s early scientific researchers. Nominations for this award are invited from Academy Fellows only.
  • Associate Professor Christopher Blake, Swinburne University of Technology – 2013 Pawsey Medal:
    The Pawsey Medal recognises the outstanding research in physics by early-mid career scientists. Chris is part of the Wiggle Z survey team and develops techniques to measure the properties of dark energy.

For more details, see the Academy’s press release. Congratulations to Ken and Chris!






%d bloggers like this: